Select Congresses to compare

Select the rules

118th Congress

Speaker: Kevin McCarthy (R)

Minority Leader: Hakeem Jeffries (D)

Years: 2023-2025

Democratic Seats: 216

Republican Seats: 222

Seats reflect the start of the Congress.

117th Congress

Speaker: Nancy Pelosi (D)

House Majority: Democratic

Minority Leader: Kevin McCarthy (R)

Years: 2021-2023

Democratic Seats: 222

Republican Seats: 211

Seats reflect the start of the Congress.

RulesCompare allows you to cross-compare the text of specific rules across House rules packages. To use the tool, select the Congresses you’d like to compare. Then, in the drop-down menu, select the specific rule you’d like to study. Click “Compare,” and the comparison will appear below.

Additional features let you disable the comparison, enable a GPT-generated explanation of rules changes, and select between comparing full rules and subsections of the rules.


This is text that was added.

This is text that was removed.

Comparison statistics

Words Added:

Words Removed:

Percent Similar:

Experimental Features

Comparison and GPT explanations may cause load delays.

GPT 3 Generated Explanation of Changes

The difference between the rules

The rule for the Congress

The rule for the Congress